Being Bold and Taking Chances

By Hana Barkowitz

I want to dive into this experience with as few expectations as possible, and I do not want to go into the Sichuan program with assumptions about its outcomes. Quite frankly, I do not know what to expect, but here’s what I do know:

I know that I am so excited that I can barely focus on anything else. I know that I will be faced with once-in-a-lifetime experiences that will stick with me for the rest of my life. I know that I will be surrounded by brilliant students from around the world. I know that I will embrace new cultures in every sense. I know that I will have a better understanding of the world due to this program. I know that my favorite professor will be learning right alongside with me, which is an incredible experience her students get to observe. I know that I will be bold and take chances that I would not take otherwise. And most importantly, I know that I will learn more about myself on this trip than I would on any other trip, and that is a beautiful excitement.

Leave a Reply

