Learn, learn, learn

By Tyler Haughn

I am absolutely thrilled with the opportunity that the College of Communication and Information at Kent State University has afforded me, to achieve my dream of going to China. I expect to be fully immersed into the culture of China, and to learn. As far as I am concerned, I will never know China. It’s too large, too old, too diverse and too deep. There is simply not enough time. That’s the joy of China for me though, facing a learning curve that impossibly steep.

With that being said, I am completely humbled by the opportunity to go to China and I hope to gain insight from a renowned College of Literature & Journalism (which is, of course, Sichuan University), as well as learn more about traditional Chinese history. I expect to gain a renewed sense of cultural competence from the Sichuan Immersion Program. It would be an absolutely transformative experience in all corners of my life, including both academic and cultural aspects.

Leave a Reply

